top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames

Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End Vol. 1 Review

A Story of Time, Friendship, & Journey's Old & New




Story by Kanehito Yamada

Art by Tsukasa Abe

Original Magazine: Weekly Shonen Sunday

English Publisher: Viz Media

Original Release Date: November 9, 2021



Loss and death are never easy to deal with, even if you don’t know the person very well, because they still were a part of your life. It can be even harder when you have regret, wishing that you could have continued to grow closer, even if you feel there will always be a distance between you. That may be a physical distance, making it difficult for you to be with one another as often as you want, or it might be because of your personal backgrounds and how you perceive yourself to be too different. Still, there is always that sense of remorse, and you wish you had more time to express how you felt.


This is the case of our titular protagonist of Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End, as she tries to find a way to honor her friends' memories, and pursue a life after they saved their kingdom from the clutches of the Demon King. Frieren was the powerful elven mage of the group, being a student of a legendary mage, who had agreed with her allies to reunite on the day of meteor shower in order to reminisce. It’s in that reunion, fifty years later, that she is given a dose of the realities of the human world. Soon after reuniting, the hero of the party named Himmel, dies of old age and leaves the seemingly unchanged Frieren with a newfound sadness she hasn’t experienced before.


I think one of the strongest aspects of this narrative is how it tackles the concept of elves through Frieren. In most high fantasy I've read, manga or otherwise, it’s often acknowledged that elves have much longer lifespans than human beings. They are beings who are capable of living for centuries, and in turn are seen as distinct from humanity because of it. In some cases, like the works of Tolkien, they are seen as mythical figures who live in separate societies away from other races and unknowing of the world around them.


In the case of our protagonist, however, this otherworldliness is tackled in a slightly different way. Frieren actively perceives time different from those around her, often seeing decades in the way we may see a year or two, leading to an innate disconnect between her and the rest of her allies. She feels a sense of remorse not because of her connection to Himmel, but for the lack of a connection she actually had with him. She took the time she had with him for granted and did not take into account the fragility of human life.


The duo of Yamada and Abe really drives this disconnect that Frieren has with those around her.

When traveling alone, she’s often presented as isolated and exploring nature, isolated from those around her. When she does interact with the same person multiple times in her travels, they are often presented as being much older, showing just how long her journey has really taken.


Even as she takes on her human apprentice Fern, she still struggles with taking the young girl's time into account. They go on a small quest that takes months, much to Fern’s frustration, and Frieren has to start changing the way she tackles problems for her sake. Yamada handles this element of the narrative really well, as he helps present Frieren as someone trying to become more understanding of those around her, so they won't make the same mistakes again. Even when there are jumps in time, Frieren is shown to start caring more for Fern more and realizing the importance of sharing even the smallest moments together.


Yamada also puts that kind of effort in his worldbuilding, presenting a well-realized world that is finally at peace. The parallels made between the times of both of Frieren’s respective journey’s help show just how much the world has changed since the Demon King’s defeat. From commonplace places becoming extinct to formerly pristine coastlines covered in debris and garbage, the world is showing its age as well. We even see this in the magic system, as we are introduced to how mages have advanced their spells in order to tackle threats on the level of the strongest minions of the Demon King. The world is ever changing beyond just characters aging, and it shows the kind of impact that their journey had on the world and how it drives Frieren’s actions going forward.


Abe’s artwork is not to be outdone, however, as panels are often presented showing Frieren and her companions exploring meticulously drawn forests and towns with no dialogue. It has this calming effect, but it also has a great effect that ties into the theme. We see how buildings and locations change along with their inhabitants, from statues covered in rust to vines growing on stonework. From small changes in the scenery, to full changes of season, the imagery shows just how long Frieren and Fern tackle specific quests without having to always declare the passage of time. I know that seems like a no-brainer, but when you have a series so fixated on the importance of how time is spent, it’s panels like these that show you just how quickly it can go without us realizing it.


I think that's why I’m so drawn to this manga. Sure I love the fantasy element, when you really boil it down, this story is about not taking life for granted. Even though Frieren is focused on her goals, she still tries to take the time to understand those around her better. I’ll admit that I have to work on that as well, as I sometimes feel like I prioritize myself and my time differently than others. Sometimes I wonder if I’m wasting my time when I’m not working or writing, and instead give myself breaks to spend time with my family or friends.


Then I read something like this, and I know that I have to make time for those moments, and I have to put in an effort to take others' time into account. It makes me realize that if I didn’t have these people in my life, I wouldn’t be who I am today. I might be projecting myself into the story a bit, but I guess I just connected with the concept and its a major reason why I can’t wait to read more.

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page