top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames

My Dress Up Darling Vol. 1: A Romance With Chemistry, Comedy & Cosplay

Updated: Mar 23, 2022


Story & Art By: Shinichi Fukuda

Publisher: Square Enix

Original Magazine: Young Gangan

English Release Date: April 14, 2020

 

When I watch anime or read manga, I find the genre I’m most critical of is romantic comedies. That isn’t to say I don’t like the genre. In fact, it’s the opposite, as I think a great romance with good laughs behind have been some of my favorite series. So when I heard about the hype behind the anime adaptation of My Dress Up Darling, I knew I wanted to experience it for myself. That said, I wanted to check if the original source, the manga written by Shinichi Fukuda, would live up to my high expectations.


The story follows Wakana Gojo, a young man who loves making traditional Japanese Hina dolls, who deals with the social anxiety and isolation because of his fear of his hobby being exposed. Then Marin Kitagawa literally falls into his life, an otaku who wants to get into the cosplay world to become some of her favorite anime and video game characters. When she discovers Gojo’s skills at sewing, she enlists him in helping out in making her first real costume.


I immediately got hooked by the premise of this series. I think some of the most engaging and talented projects come in the form of cosplay. Seeing people showing love to their favorite characters by transforming their entire look is fascinating, especially knowing the kind of work goes into it.


Having a sister who is big into crafting gave me a lot of insight into the pain-staking work that can go into producing even the simplest of accessories. Now imagine the level of work that has to go into creating intricate details in whole outfits, from dresses and shoes, to in-universe weapons or jewelry. Throw in the cosmetics and wigs you have to throw in to make the cosplay as close to the original character and you find yours with months of planning and work put behind it.


To take cosplay and establish as the base for the romance makes for a good book for people enjoy or are wanting to get into the hobby. I give Fukuda props for a concept that I’ve never seen used before and tackling it in a genre I didn’t expect.


It also helps that the leads are already working well this early in the series. Gojo, while a little bland personality wise, is relatable in his fear of being able to love the hobbies he has. I know for a long time I felt self conscious about the things I liked until I realIzed they helped me make the friends I have today.


Marin also makes for a fantastic foil to him, with her seemingly carefree attitude and passion. She is so open about her love for cosplay and the various games and anime she likes that it lets him see that it’s ok to have those passions, regardless of things like gender.


Now I am basing this on what is the very beginning of the story, but these are still great aspects that helped me really enjoy the time they share together. While I would say the pair are too early into their relationship to be considered romantic, they do have a fun dynamic that makes them such a fun couple to root for.

That said there are things that are a little concerning that I do have to address. For those who don’t like fan service, this series might be a little much for you. Nothing outright crazy happens, but a good portion of the comedy in this volume comes from scenes involving it. It’s a trope of rom com anime and manga I can live with or without., depending on how much it’s used. They do have some fun setups, like Gojo taking Marin’s measurements leading to awkward anxiety from the both of them, but it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea.


I think the volume is still hilarious without it though, especially the conversations the pair have involving the game that inspires Marin's first cosplay. It honestly had me busting a gut with how the duo play off each other, alongside the reactions of bystanders listening in on their conversation.


I can see why My Dress Up Darling has been getting the praise it has been getting. I’m already excited to check out the anime and get caught up with the volumes of the manga. Whichever one you check out you can expect some lacy cosplay, racy moments, and hilarious fun wrapped within this nice budding romance.

22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page